Designated Area Migration Agreements (DAMA)- South Australia

The following update on the South Australian DAMAs from Immigration South Australia has been published.

The South Australian Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) provides a framework for local employers to sponsor overseas workers in skilled and semi-skilled positions which are experiencing skills and labour shortages.

Concessions such as English language, salary, skills and experience and age to facilitate pathways to permanent residency are offered in a range of selected positions.

Approved occupations and concessions

The list of approved occupations, and range of concessions that are eligible for sponsorship under the SA DAMA, falls under two agreements:

Adelaide Innovation and Technology Agreement

There are 60 occupations on the Adelaide Innovation and Technology Agreement which supports the Adelaide City Deal. These occupations provide employers in the defence, space, and advanced manufacturing and technology industries with the ability to access and retain a highly-skilled workforce.

Concessions offered on this Agreement address specific challenges including, attracting a skilled workforce by offering pathways for permanent residency in South Australia. Following the required period of time on a temporary skilled visa talented individuals may be enabled to meet permanent residency by accessing the age concession when applying for the Employer Nomination Scheme (subclass 186) visa, subject to the occupation and concession being on the DAMA occupation list at time of application.

South Australian Regional Workforce Agreement

There are 114 occupations on the South Australian Regional Workforce Agreement which provide employers in key regional growth industries of agribusiness, health and aged care, hospitality and tourism, mining and construction sectors with the ability to access and retain a skilled workforce.

Concessions for occupations vary and include:

  • Up to 10% reduction of the Temporary Skilled Migration Income Threshold (TSMIT), which is set nationally
  • English language concessions at IELTS (or equivalent in another accepted English language test) 4.5 with no less than 4.0 in any of the four test components
  • Skills assessment concession
  • Age concession to enable pathways to permanent residency

The South Australian Designated Area Migration Agreement also provides eligible businesses access to 4 occupations not listed in ANZSCO, this are identified under a placeholder code as ‘ANZSCO 070499’.

Information relating to the application process and how to apply will be available from 1 July 2019.

Follow Us:
Share This:

Comments are closed.